Planning & Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission is designed to serve in an advisory capacity to the City Council and administration and is empowered to perform certain quasi-judicial functions. There are seven members on the Commission. Each Commissioner serves a two-year term and can be reappointed for another two-year term.


The Planning & Zoning Commission meets on the last Tuesday of the month in the City Council Chambers at Hopkins City Hall.

Meeting broadcasts & webcasts

Planning & Zoning Commission meetings can be watched live and on-demand online.

They can also be seen live on Cable Channel 16 and are replayed:

  • Every day at 7 pm (except Tuesday)
  • Thursday at 2 pm
  • Sunday at 1 pm


The objectives of the Commission are:

  • to guide future development of land, services, and facilities.
  • to ensure a safer, more pleasant and more economical environment for residential, commercial, industrial, and public activities.
  • to promote the public health, safety, morals, and general welfare, including the aesthetic, social, economic, physical, and environmental quality of the entire City in the context of the metropolitan community.


  • Planning & Zoning Commission Meeting
    Tuesday, September 27
    6:30 pm
  • agenda-packet


  • Staff Liaison
    City Planner



  • Laura L. Daly
    First term, expires 6/30/18
  • Kristin Hanneman
    First term, expires 6/30/18
  • Brian Hunke
    Second term, expires 6/30/18
  • Matthew McNeil
    Second term, expires 6/30/18
  • Gary Newhouse
    First term, expires 6/30/17
  • Emily Wallace-Jackson
    First term, expires 6/30/17
  • James Warden
    First term, expires 6/30/17

City of Hopkins logo (H with raspberry)City of Hopkins, Minnesota

Inspire. Educate. Involve. Communicate.