Hopkins fire trucks during the Raspberry Festival parade in 2008

About the City Council

The Hopkins City Council is responsible for enacting City legislation and defining policy for the operations of the City. The Council consists of one mayor (elected for a two-year term) and four Council members (four-year terms). The City of Hopkins does not have wards or districts. All members of the City Council are elected from the city at-large and therefore each member represents all of the residents of Hopkins.

The Council also serves as the Housing & Redevelopment Authority (HRA).

The Council appoints a City Manager who is responsible for the administrative operations of the City government.

Running for office

Hopkins municipal elections are held in odd-numbered years. The next City election will be held in November 2015.

If you have any questions about elections or filing for office, please call Amy Domeier, City Clerk, at 952-548-6304.

Filing for City Council Closes August 11

On November 3, 2015, Hopkins residents will elect the Mayor and three Council Members. The offices for election include: ƒ

  • Mayor—2-year term
  • ƒƒ2 Council Members—4-year terms beginning January 1, 2016ƒ
  • 1 Council Member—to be elected to fill the remaining two years of the Council seat vacated by the resignation of Cheryl Youakim

Filing for these positions opened on Tuesday, July 28, and will close on Tuesday, August 11. You may file for office at City Hall (1010 1st Street S) from 8 am to 4:30 pm, Monday through Friday, and until 5 pm on August 11. Individuals wishing to be a candidate must complete an Affidavit of Candidacy and submit it to the City Clerk along with the $25 filing fee.

If you have any questions about elections or filing for office, please contact Amy Domeier, City Clerk, at 952-548-6304 or adomeier@hopkinsmn.com.

To see a list of candidates who have filed, as available, visit the MN Secretary of State's website.



  • Executive Secretary

  • Council Members
    See Current Members