Police Department Awards & Recognition

Hopkins is Recognized Worldwide as Leaders
in Community Policing

Hopkins Police receive international recognition from the International Association of Chief's of Police, IACP, after receiving the IACP-Cisco Systems 2012 International Community Policing Finalist Award.  This prestigious international award recognizes best practices of innovative community policing techniques. 

Hopkins Police Chief, Michael Reynolds and Captain Brent Johnson traveled to the IACP annual conference in San Diego, California to accept the award.  Chief Reynolds credited the award to the officers and staff at the Hopkins police department along with the residents of Hopkins for their dedication to the community and creative problem solving partnerships.

Since 1998, the IACP’s Community Policing Committee has recognized outstanding community policing initiatives undertaken by law enforcement agencies worldwide through the annual Community Policing Award, sponsored by Cisco Systems.

The award identifies and rewards best practices in community policing by recognizing police organizations that use the power of collaboration and partnerships to make local, national, and global communities safer from crime and terrorism.

The winners and finalists provide a model for improved police services on issues that are specific to individual communities but are valuable for all communities around the world.

For more information on the International Association of Chiefs of Police and the IACP-Cisco Systems Community Policing Award follow this link to the IACP Community Policing website at http://www.iacpcommunitypolicing.org

Hopkins Police and Blake Road Community Collaborative Receive National Award

In September 2011, a Hopkins community-police partnership was recognized with a national MetLife Foundation Community-Police Partnership Award for innovative community safety efforts that have reduced crime, eliminated blight and renewed economic vitality in Hopkins neighborhoods. Read more...

Hopkins Crime Prevention Specialist Wins Lifetime Achievement Award

The Minnesota Crime Prevention Association has awarded Anne Marie Buck, crime prevention specialist for the Hopkins Police Department, the Rosie Griep Legacy Award. This award is a lifetime achievement award given to crime prevention specialists who have made significant contributions to crime prevention efforts for at least 10 years.

As a crime prevention specialist, Buck’s duties include: Crime-Free Multi Housing; overseeing the nuisance property/rental ordinance program; Graffiti Task Force; School and Community In Partnership; Hopkins Apartment Managers Association; Blake Road Community Collaborative; and One Voice (community drug & alcohol awareness program). Buck has also been instrumental in the success of the Joint Community Police Partnership program which has won a multi-agency international award for Civil Rights.

Police Officer Honored for Drug Prevention Work

Sergeant Brent Johnson is a national runner-up for the Enrique S. Camarena Award. He will be recognized at the July 20 City Council meeting by leaders of the Minnesota Elks.

The Elks' Enrique S. Camarena Award is established by the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks to recognize and honor law enforcement officers who have made a significant contribution in the field of drug prevention and who personify Agent Camarena’s belief that one person can make a difference.

JCPP Wins 2009 Civil Rights Award

The Joint Community Policing Project has been selected by the International Association of Chiefs of Police as the winner of the 2009 Civil Rights Award. The award was given in the multi-agency category recognizing the work of all four cities in Hennepin County currently working with JCPP. The IACP committee noted the JCPP's work to "enhance civil and human rights in our communities through civic engagement." 

The JCPP, coordinated by Hennepin County, works to improve communication and understanding between police and multicultural residents in the four communities in which it works. Tsehai Wodajo has served as the community liaison for Hopkins for the last two years. 

Chief Craig Reid has been invited to the IACP conference in October to accept the award on behalf of the program. This is the first time the Hopkins Police Department has received recognition for programming from the International Association of Chiefs of Police. The IACP is made up of over 20,000 members of command level in law enforcement in over 89 countries.

This is wonderful recognition for the work JCPP has done in Hopkins in the last two years.

Congressman Erik Paulsen congratulates the Hopkins Police Department.

National Organization Honors Hopkins Police Officer

Officer DeDomines with Police Chief Craig Reid

Officer Stacy Lakotas

The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund (NLEOMF) has announced the selection of Officer Stacy Lynn Lakotas of the Hopkins Police Department as its Officer of the Month for February 2009. Officer Lakotas was honored for her volunteer work in preparing memorials for the families and departments of Minnesota police officers who died in the line of duty. Read more about Officer Lakotas' award.

Hopkins Police Officer Receives Medal Of Commendation

Officer DeDomines with Police Chief Craig Reid

Officer DeDomines with Police Chief Craig Reid

Officer Brian DeDomines was honored at a dinner hosted by the Minnesota Sheriff’s Association on December 8, 2008. Officer DeDomines received the Minnesota Sheriff’s Association Medal of Commendation for his off-duty action in October in Wright County. A mentally unstable woman had been removed by staff from a teenage hunter safety course. This woman crashed her vehicle through a gate and was driving towards a group of children when Officer DeDomines jumped onto her vehicle. Officer DeDomines was able to get the vehicle stopped and held the woman until Wright County Sheriff’s Deputies could arrive to take her into custody. Officer DeDomines was injured during this action.

Officer DeDomines was the fourth person to receive this award in the last 10 years. He is the first Hopkins Police Officer to be so honored.

Three Hopkins Police Officers Receive Statewide Recognition

Officer Mark Kyllo (left) and Sgt. Gordy Klingbeil

Officer Mark Kyllo and Sgt. Gordy Klingbeil

On October 4, 2006 the Minnesota Sex Crimes Association recognized Sgt. Ray Laudenbach as the Investigator of the Year for 2006. Laudenbach was recognized for his efforts that lead to identification of a suspect wanted for two home invasion/sexual assault cases that occurred in 2001. Laudenbach not only identified the suspect in those cases but also helped identify him in other unsolved cases in two other states. That suspect is awaiting trial in Hennepin County as well as Wisconsin and Illinois. Laudenbach is the first Hopkins Police to be named Investigator of the Year.

On October 12, 2006 Chief Mark Dunaski of the Minnesota State Patrol presented Sgt. Gordy Klingbeil and Officer Mark Kyllo the Minnesota State Patrol Commendation Award. The officers received this recognition for their efforts last year when a suicidal man attempted to jump off an overpass on Highway 169. Klingbeil and Kyllo responded to the scene to assist a state trooper. The suicidal man attempted to jump from the bridge and was grabbed by the trooper and Hopkins officers and pulled to safety. The action saved the man’s life and was undertaken at personal risk to the officers.

The Minnesota State Patrol Commendation Award is the highest award presented by the Minnesota State Patrol to police officers from other departments.


  • Police Chief


City of Hopkins logo (H with raspberry)City of Hopkins, Minnesota

Inspire. Educate. Involve. Communicate.